with the passage of time, will we forget?

Will we ever forget what we’ve just been through?

I won’t ever forget the two little girls who cried on their way out the door tonight after the vote. Broken hearts.

I won’t ever forget the RCMP officer standing up front next to Nathan Hildebrand after the vote. Fear factor?

I won’t ever forget the former deputy mayor and defeated mayoral candidate all smiles hob nobbing with her “suddenly we’re friends again” council members. Two faces?

I won’t ever forget the crack in Chad’s voice as he told the audience he would support this motion. Real emotion.

I won’t ever forget Ken Jaimeson offering a new blue suit jacket to a stranger in the audience. Nice touch.

I won’t ever forget Alan Harrison’s careful logic. Lesser of two evils.

Nor will I forget Debbie Cannon’s thanks and appreciation of Wa:ter’s very good work. Touching humility.

I won’t ever forget the word brown field redevelopment as explained by Kevin Flynn. Google that.

I won’t ever forget Ivan Idzan’s principled rationale. Unsung hero.

I hope I forget the fatigue and the stress.

What I will anxiously look forward to is to see whether or not Smart Centres delivers on its hint of promise of a more shopping (instead of the same shopping in a new place) to their orange bag-touting supporters. They didn’t support SC to be nice. They supported SC because there’s something in it for them. Some developers can split a town using classic divide and conquer tactics (despite remarks made by Kevin to the contrary). They divided. They conquered. Now the supporters will demand reciprocity and reward. Don’t leave them hanging. Payback’s a bitch when you don’t deliver.

All of this may still have been for not. And that’s one thing I’m not prepared to forget about.

One Response

  1. […] Wallace on The Blahgg Blog, in with the passage of time, will we forget? , weighs in on the events. I won’t ever forget the word brown field redevelopment as explained by […]

Leave a Reply

