A tisket, attack it, to hell in a basket

Here’s how the real nursery rhyme goes:

A-tisket a-tasket
A green and yellow basket
I wrote a letter to my love
And on the way I dropped it,
I dropped it,
I dropped it,
And on the way I dropped it.
A little boy he picked it up and put it in his pocket.

But watching american TV in the weeks leading up to the mid term election, I think they should revise the rhyme to this:

A-tisket, attack it.
To hell in a basket
I ran for office in my land
And on the way got blasted.
Got blasted.
Got blasted.
And on the way got blasted.
A media got hold of it and on the way got blasted.

I don’t understand my American neighbours. Not that I’m immune to the petty and persnickety protocol of politics but this is TOO much. You can’t watch a single episode of Jeopardy or The Today Show or any American TV without being bombarded with, let’s face it, the MEANEST election ads known to man. Why has public discourse been lowered to such a despicable state south of the border? Nobody is any good and yet they want to run the free world?  This is distressing. It’s discouraging and it’s scaring the children. I mean really – everything is bad, everyone is corrupt. What’s a voter to do?

Chances are, Obama will lose “control” of the house and maybe the Senate. Then what? Absolutely nothing. That’s what.

The Tea Party will rave that they’ve sent a message to Washington. And the message will be loud and clear. No one, under any circumstances, can do anything, ever. Except raise money for the next election. It’s total insanity. And a huge warning to the “rest” of the free world.

In Canada, there are rumours, again, of yet another election. Is this how it’ll go down? Nobody is good at anything. Nobody deserves a majority. Nothing should get done. No one can be trusted?

I believe that we are who we elect. Not that I’m thrilled about who we are at the moment. And maybe you do need an ego the size of the Northern Ontario to run for office, but somebody needs to get some work done, somewhere. Public office used to be an honourable profession. Under paid. Over worked. Changing lives. Now it’s over paid. Under worked. Doing nothing for fear of doing something. It’s a sad comment. And I am sad. I want to be inspired and motivated and encouraged. I don’t want to take sides by blasting opponents. I want solutions. I want options. I am left wanting, I’m afraid.

Obama inspired a generation of voters with his “Yes We Can” message. And two years in, our american neighbours are answering “Hell No, we can’t”. And, from my point of you, they could have. They should have. But they didn’t.

In 1969, Trudeau addressed the Press Club in Washington and was famously quoted as saying that “Living next to you (the United States) is in some ways like [a mouse] sleeping with an elephant. No matter how friendly and even-tempered is the beast, if I can call it that, one is affected by every twitch and grunt.”

Here’s hoping that 40 years later that aging elephant doesn’t suffocate this mouse. Because even the smallest creep in the darkest place at the latest hour would be an improvement over this.

2 Responses

  1. Great stuff
    The fact is Government is unionized and the rest of us are not. Conseqently Gov types on average make more money(25%) and enjoy sweeter total package benefits (33%).
    …and yet
    the engine of the current and future economy is private initiative and capital
    … whats wrong with this picture ?

  2. […] Wallace’s post A tisket, attack it, to hell in a basket looks at the over-the-top political attacks leading up to the US mid-term elections and the […]

Leave a Reply

