Superbowl of advertising

Come Sunday, it won’t just be football players vying for victory. It’ll be advertisers too. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a football game as much as the next middle-aged mom. Really I do. Though I’m sure my husband and his friends could do without my constant questions and comments such as “ouch. I bet that hurt” or “how many downs in American football again” or “how many more time outs.” But I mostly enjoy the minute long intermissions – the commercials.

It’s the advertising event of the year! And I don’t even have to worry about what outfit to wear. Just me, my friends, some chips, some dips and a few bevies.

So what have we got to look forward to. Well, for starters, the Bud commercials – which don’t do much for me. Though I love the fact that the upside down beer cap makes them the king of beers. Genius. This is why an award winning ad agency is only award winning if it really lives the brand. Touches it. Tries it. Lives it. Trust me, that iconic gesture only came as a result of real hands on experience. In the words of Edward R. Murrow, “The obscure we see eventually. The completely obvious, it seems, takes longer.”


Go Daddy will go the route of debauchery – again, not for me. But it must work for them. Keeping in mind that advertisers will $2.8 million to $3 million for each 30 seconds of  time,  or as much as $100,000 per second – it’s go time for these agencies. And that’s just the air time. That price doesn’t even begin to pay a film a crew, develop a single concept or execute a mere second of a campaign. It boggles the mind.

Volkswagen can always be counted on for clever creativity:

My money’s on the E-trade baby commercials – some of which can be seen here (I can’t seem to post it from youtube – must be a reason…)

https://us.etrade.com/e/t/jumppage/viewjumppage?PageName=etrade_super_tv_ads

And while it’s true that we buy beer and cars and junk food, fizzy pop, financial services and the like, come Sunday, what we’ll really appreciate is a good laugh. You might not remember who told you the joke but you’ll always remember the punch line. After all, they say that he who laughs last, laughs loudest.

So have a good giggle and enjoy the game. At least you’ll get your monies worth.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

