For the first time in my life, I will vote to elect a Prime Minister who is younger than me.

For the first time in my life, I will vote to elect a Prime Minister who is younger than me. I feel as though this is more than a general election, it’s a generational election. I’m excited at the prospect of being a young country once again full of ideals, ideas and innovation and for the young people in my life who are full of promise, potential and possibility.

By the same token, I feel like our national leadership has skipped a generation. Where was our leader from our generation? That’s the challenge of my statistical cohort. A big bulge of population ahead and a smaller and more capable one behind. 

Let it be our legacy that we give the next generation the chance that we missed. A real and genuine chance to shape the next generation and to take the place at the international table that we all know, on some deep cultural level, is the legacy of the leaders that came before.

I have total faith in our young people and I chose them over more of the same. It’s their turn.

You’ve got this. I know we’ll help in any way we can. We helped them plenty, it’s our turn to help you now.

heart emoticon

Lou

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

